Friday, September 05, 2008

New in Dylan Cover Albums:
John Corigliano: Mr. Tambourine Man

John Corigliano's classical song cycle Mr. Tambourine Man: Seven Poems of Bob Dylan gets it's first audio release on this new Naxos CD. The song cycle sets seven Dylan lyrics to new music composed by Corigliano. The work debuted for voice & piano in 2000, followed by a version for orchestra in 2003.
This CD presents the world première recording of the orchestrated version, with vocals by soprano Hila Plitmann with the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by JoAnn Falletta, recorded in March 2007 with vocal overdubs added in June 2008. The CD has been added to Dylan Cover Albums HERE.
Not for the traditionalist, and perhaps better suited for someone with an appreciation of opera and classical vocals. It's arguable if they should even be considered Dylan covers since the music is unrelated to Dylan's original music.
While this is the first audio release of either version that I am aware of, a voice and piano version taped in 2000 appeared on the 2004 Voices Of Our Time DVD by soprano Sylvia McNair, and another unreleased V&P version with Hila Plitmann was broadcast on WNYC's New Sounds program in 2002, and can be heard on-line at Both these versions omit a song, Masters Of War is missing from the McNair DVD, and the WNYC broadcast omits Clothes Line, so this CD is the only source to include all seven Dylan songs:
Mr. Tambourine Man / Clothes Line / Blowin' In The Wind / Masters Of War / All Along The Watchtower / Chimes Of Freedom / Postlude: Forever Young
More info at
Already released in Europe, to be released 9/30 in the US.
Available from: | |


Post a Comment

<< Home